The Australian Visa Point System — Know Your Score

If you’re thinking about moving to another country to start a new chapter of your life, Australia is truly the place to be! People from across the globe come here to immerse themselves in the diverse cultures, the wide range of climates, and the subsidized, often free, healthcare from some of the world’s finest hospitals! And a great way to get started is by applying for Australian PR.

What Is Australian PR?

Welcome to Australia illustration

Australian Permanent Residency (PR) is a visa class that allows non-citizens to live and work in Australia for up to 5 years. After your third year of living there, you can apply for permanent residency and become a citizen of Australia — a very straightforward process! It’s also important to know that this is all merit-based. So, if you have some skills and funding to back up your venture, you’ll do just fine!

Australian PR includes 3 subclasses where your immigration success relies on a point system. If you’re applying via the (a) Skilled-Independent, (b) Skilled-Sponsored, or (c) Skilled-Regional Sponsored Classes, you’ll be assessed on a point system. The minimum score to qualify is 65 points and your job must be on Australia’s updated Skilled Occupations List. Let’s talk about how the points are divided to help you see where you stand.

Categories of the Point System

Checklist illustration


If you’re either 18 to 24 or 33 to 39, you automatically start with 25 points to your application. Gen Y individuals from 25 to 32 years earn a maximum of 30 points while 40- to 44-year-olds get 15 points. If you’re older than 44, unfortunately, you do not qualify under the skilled occupation visa subclass.

Language Proficiency

How good are your English skills? To prove you’ll be able to communicate effectively with the people around you, you’re required to take an English proficiency test. Acceptable ones include IELTS, TOEFL, PTE, CAE, and OET. The last one is only eligible if you’re a medical or allied healthcare professional. Each of these tests is divided into four categories to assess your skills — Reading, Writing, Speaking and Listening. You’ll be put into one of three groups — Competent, Proficient, and Superior — for each category based on your results, earning you 0, 10, and 20 points respectively. So, it’s time to bust out some English classics and start polishing up your language skills! Here’s a way to earn an easy 5 points; prove your proficiency in your native language by taking a Credentialed Community Language (CCL) test that covers 64 languages!

Educational Background

If you’ve acquired a Ph.D. from an Australian or any other recognized educational institution, great news — you’re at the top of the list! You can add 20 points to your tally. If you’re a graduate with a Bachelor’s degree from an Australian or other recognized educational institution, you get 15 points. If you don’t have either of these but instead hold a diploma or an award to recognize your competency level in your occupation, you can add 10 points to your score.

Skill and Work Experience

You must have had a few good years of work experience under your belt to earn good points in this category. For 3 years minimum work experience, you earn 5 points; for 5 to 7 years, 10 points; and for a minimum of 8 years, 15 points. If you’ve been working in Australia, you automatically get a point boost in each category. For 1 to 2 years, you’re awarded 5 points; 3 to 4 years, 10 points; 5 to 7 years, 15 points; and a maximum of 20 points for 8+ years! And if you acquired work-based training for 12 months in Australia, you earn another 5 points!

If your partner is also an applicant meeting the minimum requirements for English proficiency, skills, and age, you automatically gain 10 points. If they’re a permanent Australian resident or a citizen, you get 10 points. The same goes for if you’re single. But, if your partner does not meet the skill requirement but still is an applicant with proven English proficiency, you earn 5 points.

State/Territory Nomination

You earn 10 points if you’re nominated by a state/territory on a regional government level for a Skilled Regional Sponsored visa OR if you have an eligible relative living in a regional area. That’s 5 points for sponsorship by an Australian state government for a Skilled-Sponsored Visa.

Overwhelmed? UIS Australia Can Help!

Confused man illustration

If all these details seem too much, UIS Australia can take the wheel for you. Our licensed consultancy houses experts to help you navigate your options and choose the best path for YOU!

With UIS Australia to back you up every step of the way, moving to Oz can be easier than you think. You can book a free consultation today or check your eligibility for PR using our online eligibility assessment.

Ron Ford

Ron Ford immigrated with his family to Australia in 2005 to work as a social worker. Following their difficult immigration process, he slowly turned to blogging and creating content about immigration: "…As a family of 5, we struggled to make ends meet. I was working around the clock and Clarissa was working in housekeeping any time she could spare. The move to Australia completely changed our lives, but it cost us a lot of money, time, and tears. Ever since I've wanted to help others on their journeys the way I wished someone had helped us".

More Posts